Create A Connection – Getting to know you

May 3, 2007

I absolutely love these type of things but as I read the questions for this weeks Getting to know you I found myself thinking how, what, I don’t know…but here it goes…

Jennifer/Paintergirl wants to know what book, movie and song not only changed your life, but also changed the way you thought about the medium. It could have been when you were a child or a teenager or just last week. Anytime in your life.

Well…I guess I will start out with the song

Barry Manilow’s Can’t Smile Without You: This was the song that my mother and father listened to as she was dying with Cancer. As a 12 year old I obviously knew what the words were saying but didn’t really understand what the really meant for my parents. This song would come on and they would put their cheeks together and cry, hugging each other. The words of the song saying what they felt in their hearts and to my 12 year old self it was heartrenching to watch. After my mom passed, the song seemed to be on the radio everytime we turned it on. My sisters and I would try to grab the dial on the radio to change it as soon as we heard the whistling but my dad always wanted to hear it and I remember sitting on the side of the road many times while dad cried and waited for the song to end so that he could compose himself enough to drive again.

<whistling>You know I can’t smile without you
I can’t smile without you
I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
I’m findin’ it hard to do anything
You see I feel sad when you’re sad
I feel glad when you’re glad
If you only knew what I’m goin’ through
I just can’t smile without you

You came along just like a song
And brightened my day
Who’da believed that you were part of a dream?
Now it all seems light years away

And now you know I can’t smile without you
I can’t smile without you
I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
I’m findin’ it hard to do anything

You see, I feel sad when you’re sad
I feel glad when you’re glad
If you only knew what I’m goin’ through
I just can’t smile without you

Now some people say happiness takes so very long to find
Well I’m finding it hard leavin’ your love behind me

And you see I can’t smile without you
I can’t smile without you
I can’t laugh and I can’t sing
I’m findin’ it hard to do anything

You see I feel glad when you’re glad
I feel sad when you’re sad
If you only knew what I’m goin’ through
I just can’t smile without you…

As for Movie…geez…I don’t think there is a movie that has changed my life..but there has to be something I can answer here…ummm…I guess I could say oh damn I don’t know why is this so hard for me. I’ll come back to this one day and totally have an answer for now I will say that The Sound of Music always makes me happy. My Fair Lady always makes me sing. Grease makes me smile. Dirty Dancing makes me dance and Pretty Women always made me consider being a call girl..

As for the Book that changed my life…????
White Oleander by Janet Fitch was beautifully written. I was sucked in from the first sentence which I can still remember:

“The Santa Anas blew in hot from the desert, shriveling the last of the spring grass into whiskers of pale straw”

It was poetry and I had never read anything like it. It made me want to read again.

Any Judy Blume book; as a child I loved reading. Judy was one of my favorites as she was a lot of little girls I knew.

Laura Ingels Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series made me want to be her friend and live on the prarie.

Little Women made me thankful to have my sisters and I wished I was as strong as Jo.

I am sure that there are more profound things I could come up with if I didn’t have Mommy Brain but this is it man, this is all I got. Peace

Leave a Reply

