Amateur Book Review – P.S. I Love You

March 15, 2008


Amateur Book Review – P.S. I Love You

I finished P.S. I Love You By Cecelia Ahern about 3 days and have been putting this post together since.

In 4 words, I didn’t like it.

I was loaned this book by a dear friend who also didn’t like it, however, like me wanted to see how it ended.

For me, the concept was great but the story was about 300 pages longer than it needed to be.

Writing was wordy, too many characters without story lines, and the main character lack depth.

The book was an International best seller, that was made into a movie with Hillary Swank, and I am still not sure why, other than the book was written so detailed (and not in a good way) it could be a movie script.
The premise of the book was very mature. Holly’s husband passes away from a brain tumor and leaves her envelopes to open every month to help her cope with his passing. The writing though was wordy, dialogue was unnecessary and juvenile.

Never did I feel compassion for Holly, I couldn’t stand her or her friends. Also, the million members of her family were completely unnecessary and I truly hated the anti climatic ending.

I would love to see this concept done by another author and I am interested in seeing the movie which I hear is quite different than the book. I should hope so.

18 Responses to “Amateur Book Review – P.S. I Love You”

  1. Tery said

    The movie was really good. I enjoyed it. It was a fascinating love story at least in the Movie. Sometimes, books and movies don’t always end up being the same. Too bad for the book though, but the movie was great 🙂

  2. Liz said

    This book was really good, I enjoyed it. I still haven’t seen the movie, but I also hear it is good and I can’t wait for it to come out. When I was reading the book I was unable to put it down because it was amazing. The story was very original and touching. It wasn’t what I expected it to be at all, it was even better. I don’t know why everybody thinks it was so bad, I felt like I was in the story.

  3. amy said

    mgagliano’s review was very rude. the book was awesome and you obvously dont appreciate heart loving caring books. some people might go through this so i thought your review was very rude. it was the greatest book i have red in a long time and it definetly was something i could not put down. the story was amazing and touching. i have heard the movie and book are different but who cares its a great story.

  4. maria said

    Wow, rude, on my own blog????

    How crazy is that?

    Thanks for visiting.

  5. Josette said

    Hmm…but I enjoyed the book. To me, the writing style was simple and it was an easy read, like a chick lit book. The characters were cheery, dialogues were funny, and I was curious as to what contained in Gerry’s letters!

    Here is my review of this book. =)

  6. bekkah said

    How did I miss this!??!!? Too funny….I had no idea how controversial you are…such the rebel.

  7. […] Bloggers’ Reviews: Maria, nylusmilk, Kathleen, Melody Bookmark and Share: sociallist_adba7c82_url = […]

  8. Me Skinney said

    Ok, i know that its good to have your own opinion and all… but seriously, that book is amazing!
    No offence, but i think you really need to re-read that book.
    Personally, i find this book amazing, and Ahern made it shine.

  9. Me Skinney said

    Just realised it said Ameteur book review

    – no wonder.

  10. Rebecca Baxter said

    The best word to describe the book and movie is ” WOW!”
    I laughed and cried the whole time. How could anymore not like this book or movie ? Bravo Ahern !!

  11. Bhanuraj Kashyap said

    This is a great book. In fact the best book I have ever read after ‘Forbidden Love’ By Norma Khouri. P.S makes you laugh and cry at the same time.

  12. ashley said

    Just finished reading the book and looking for reviews on it, to see if others felt the same way I did.

    Apparently you do. 🙂

    I felt this book is a giant cliche.

  13. Ellen said

    So glad to read this review. I saw the movie first and loved it. I bought this book for 98 cents at the thrift store and have been reading it during spare moments of raising my 21 month old. I was extremely disappointed and thought the ending was simplistic and trite. I wanted so badly to connect to the story. It did not make me cry or laugh. I thought I was the only person who did not love this book. Thank you.

  14. it is a good idea to look for book reviews first before buying an expensive book _

  15. Amanda McLean said

    The ending of P.S. is very profound if the reader is willing to take the time to considered. Unfortunately, the average reader expects every novel to relate to their lives and wrap up in a neat little package. The best books do neither of these two things completely. I believe that Ahern does a brilliant job of relating to every reader is a small way and encouraging readers to draw their own conclusions. In short, a book worth reading. And re-reading.

  16. amy said

    Its really a beautiful book. Ireally liked it.

  17. pooja said

    I think the book is really wonderful, particularly the writing skills of Ahern..!!!!

Leave a Reply

