Thursday Thirteen

March 20, 2008

Thursday Thirteen

Thirteen Reasons I love Being A Mom

1. The unsolicited kisses – who doesn’t want one of those?

2. Waking up to a sleepy little one walking over to me and saying, “good morning Mom” with their arms raised for me to lift and kiss them good morning.

3. Getting to re-read some of my childhood books with an eager audience.

4. Feeling those little arms around my neck when I lift them up.

5. Getting to play with Play doh, Barbies, Crayons, Little People, pretend food and baby dolls without someone looking at me funny.

6. The smell of the top of my kids head and the little soft spot under their chin.

7. Being able to grab a handful of baby butt and squeezing anytime I want. Love that little baby butt.

8. The smile they get on their face whenever I look at them.

9. Waking next to them every morning.

10. Hearing them bless me in their prayers at night.

11. Listening to them talking to each other the way I talk to them.

12. Loving someone so deeply it makes you want to cry.

13. The biggest reason I love being a mom if my kids make me smile more than anyone else in the world. I laugh every day.

For More Thursday Thirteen Participants Go Here

7 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen”

  1. Di said

    You didn’t mention the power and the ability to be evil and ruin your kids’ lives…that’s what THEY would say now! (Mom of teens.)

  2. mgagliano said

    Ha….Di..I bet mine will say all that too one day.

  3. You are a very fortunate person.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  4. I love this list. So often people complain so much about their kids. I always think, “you know, there’s pills against that.” Good for you for seeing the wonder of your life!

    Happy TT

  5. Kaige said

    Who needs teenagers to do that, Di? *evil grin* Seriously though, you hit many of my personal favorites too. I love how the kids each have their own scent as well beyond the shampoo and other stuff.

    Happy TT! Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures.

  6. This post brought tears to my eyes. At the age of 19 I was told I’d never have a child. At 34 I have a three-year old and I never take for granted how blessed we are.

    I have to say that the #1 reason I love being a mom is the way my daughter looks up at me when I’m rocking her, as if I am the most special person in the world to her. My heart melts and I swear at that moment I know what the most perfect and purest love feels like.

    Happy TT!

    – Renee

  7. mgagliano said

    RJ, I know it. Thanks for checking in with me.

    Claudia, You are right. We do need to see the wonder in all our lives. I appreciate your comment so much. It is how I live my life.

    Kaige, Seriously. They do don’t they? Love it too!

    Renee, I appreciate your comment. Wow, I am sorry that you had to go through that at 19. I can’t imagine what that must have been like. Thank God, you have your little miracle. You are blessed.

    I know exactly that feeling you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

