Slice of Life Sunday

June 5, 2008

Slice of Life choices for the week of June 1, 2008 are:

1. Graduation

2. My Greatest Loss

3. Green-Eyed Monster: Jealousy

I am choosing Green-Eyed Monster because I have written about my greatest loss; My mom, so many times I am sure that everyone is sick of hearing it.

Anyway, I digress…

I think jealousy is a terrible waste of time but throughout life we tend to feel jealous of things other people have or how other people look compared to us. As we get older we realize (at least I hope we realize) that this is a totally unnecessary feeling and we let it go. I truly can’t remember the last time I felt jealous of someone.

Being happy for what I have has been something that comes easy for me. I see each day, thing and person in my life as a gift. Why want more, better, someone else’s?

2 Responses to “Slice of Life Sunday”

  1. bekkah said

    I agree, jealousy is an UGLY emotion. I can’t remember the last time I felt it either (H.S., maybe?!), but it’s impossible to forget what a horrible feeling it is to experience.

    Life’s too short to spend it miserable and not appreciating what you have. I also think it’s a huge reflection on how much you really care (or don’t!) about the person you’re feeling jealous of….

  2. maria said

    Exactly! My sis has had friends who constantly tell her negative things about her, her kids or her husband. I constantly tell her that THOSE ARE NOT FRIENDS. Your friends want good things for you even if it is better than what they have.

Leave a Reply

